Driving After Consuming Alcohol Under 21 / Driving After Consuming < 21
N.C.G.S. 20-138.3 is the applicable statute for a North Carolina Driving After Consuming < 21 case. North Carolina has a zero tolerance law for drivers under the age of 21. It is illegal for a driver under 21 years old to have any amount of alcohol in his / her bloodstream while operating a motor vehicle. This is an extremely serious charge, referred to by some an “underage DWI”. The charge is a Class II Misdemeanor. You face revocation of your driver's license for one year. You face four points on your driver's license. You will incur four points on your insurance, which equates to an increase of 400 percent in premiums over the next three years. The court may also institute significant court costs / fines, probation, and / or jail time. You should further consider a conviction of Driving After Consuming Under 21 will remain on your criminal record indefinitely.
If your blood alcohol content (BAC) is .08 or above, you will most likely also face a charge of driving while impaired (DWI). Mr. Shumate frequently represents clients clients facing this charge, who also face associated charges (speeding, reckless driving, etc.). It is important you obtain legal counsel with experience addressing a variety of these charges.
The above-referenced information clearly indicates the importance of immediately hiring an experienced DWI attorney, who is knowledgeable with the local area and common court practices. Mr. Shumate will personally handle your case, developing a legal strategy that accomplishes goals tailored to your individual legal and practical considerations. Chris Shumate will work with to achieve the best result in your case.
Mr. Shumate is an experienced and aggressive Charlotte DWI attorney. Our office is efficient, and Chris makes your needs a priority. Contact our office now for a free consultation to discuss your Driving After Consuming charge.
Aggressive, Personal, and Effective Representation